- Overview
- Intraoral scanners
Intraoral scanners
The question this page answers Which intraoral scanners can your practice buy in the US, who makes and sells them, and what should you check before you choose one?
On this page
An intraoral scanner takes a digital impression of the teeth that can be sent to the dental lab instead of a conventional impression. This category compares intraoral scanner models that a public source shows US dental practices can buy, one row per model. The criteria are scanner type and computer, price, open file export, license and subscription, sending scans to the lab, and service and warranty.
As of October 18, 2026, the overview covers five models from five manufacturers. Only one model has a public price ($33,650 one-time excl. sales tax1, with TRIOS Care service plan after the first year: $219 per month sales tax not stated2 for the service plan after the first year); for the other four we found no price, or the price is shown only after sign-in. Ask for the price of the scanner, the computer and any subscription in writing.
Manufacturer, model and US seller are shown separately, because they are often different companies. The guide does not assess accuracy, scanning speed or clinical quality, and features such as a camera or caries aid are shown only as present.
How the suppliers are assessed
Criteria version 1.3, October 18, 2026. The same criteria for all suppliers in the category.
- Type of scanner
- Price
- Open export (STL, PLY, OBJ)
- Software license and subscription
- Sending scans to the lab
- Service and loaner scanner in the US
- Wireless
- Intraoral camera or caries aid
- Orthodontic simulation
- Link to chairside milling
Who is included: One entry per model: an intraoral scanner (handpiece with software for digital impressions, wired or wireless, on a cart or connected to a laptop) from an identified manufacturer, where public documentation shows that US dental practices can buy or lease the model (a national US dealer or distributor, the manufacturer's own US sales, or the manufacturer's documented delivery to the US), and where a public product source for the model exists. Manufacturer, model and US seller are shown separately. The US must be named; «North America», «worldwide» or a global English page alone is not enough. Only national dealers and distributors or the manufacturer's US sales company are listed as sellers; there are no state-by-state pages or values, and regional or single-state dealers are not listed. Only companies are listed: corporations, and LLCs, LPs and LLPs with a neutral brand name (an SEC-reporting corporation named after a founder counts as a company). The company form is read only from the company's own footer, terms or privacy page; a sole proprietorship or DBA, a general partnership, an LLC, PC or PLLC carrying a person's name or degree, or a company that states no company form there is excluded without being named, and no people are recorded for included companies. This applies to manufacturers and sellers alike. Only documented features are compared; accuracy, scan speed and clinical quality are not assessed. Not included: used and refurbished scanners alone, lab and desktop scanners, stand-alone software, and milling units and 3D printers alone.
This is not an exhaustive overview. See the search frame, the sources searched and known gaps.
Compare intraoral scanners
Sorted by the number of published facts, not by quality. Alphabetical order is one click away. This is not an exhaustive overview.
List of 5 intraoral scanners
No offerings match your search. Try another word or choose «Show all».
| Supplier and offering | Type of scanner | Price | Open export (STL, PLY, OBJ) | Software license and subscription | Sending scans to the lab | Service and loaner scanner in the US | Wireless | Intraoral camera or caries aid | Orthodontic simulation | Link to chairside milling | Manufacturer, model and seller | Price | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3Shape 3Shape TRIOS 6 Wireless 5 of 9 facts published 3Shape Inc. (United States) local seller 3Shape A/S (Denmark) manufacturer www.3shape.com | TRIOS 6 Wireless scanner sold with a computer pre-installed with scan and workflow software; choice of Dell Pro Max Plus, Lenovo ThinkStation P360 Ultra PC or TRIOS MOVE Pro3Provided by the vendor | Published on the US webshop: one-time payment $33,650 for the configuration shown, or 3Shape Installments over 24-60 months; taxes and shipping not included4Provided by the vendor | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | First year of TRIOS Care included; after the first year TRIOS Care costs $219/month, or the practice can downgrade to TRIOS Only (free service agreement); 3Shape app subscriptions take effect after one year5Provided by the vendor | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | TRIOS Care (first year included): onboarding, continued training, unlimited support, warranty and express replacement6Provided by the vendor | Sold as TRIOS 6 Wireless7Provided by the vendor | Not found in public sourcesNot stated as included (searched Oct 18, 2026): «TRIOS Dx Plus and all its additional features are available as an add-on option»; caries detection or an intraoral camera is not named on the page; https://webshop.3shape.com/configurator/trios-6-wireless-22003200configurator (da3dfd50) | TRIOS Treatment Simulator is listed as included in the TRIOS 6 Wireless price8Provided by the vendor | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | Manufacturer: 3Shape manufacturer Model: 3Shape TRIOS 6 Wireless No local seller found (searched October 18, 2026) | Base price: $33,650 one-time excl. sales tax1Includes: Scan computer pre-installed with scan and workflow software, First year of TRIOS Care, Dx Standard/TRIOS Patient Monitoring, Smile Design, TRIOS Treatment Simulator · Not included: Taxes, ShippingAdd-on – TRIOS Care service plan after the first year: $219 per month sales tax not stated2 | Last checked |
| Dentsply Sirona Dentsply Sirona Primescan 2 4 of 9 facts published Dentsply Sirona Inc (United States) manufacturerlocal seller www.dentsplysirona.com/en-us | Wireless intraoral scanner without dedicated hardware: used with any computer, laptop, tablet or other mobile device with an internet connection; scan data is captured directly on the DS Core cloud platform9Provided by the vendor | Not found in public sourcesNo public price (searched Oct 18, 2026): the US shop shows «Sign In for Price»; https://www.dentsplysirona.com/en-us/shop/brands/primescan.html (02d5d2f5) | DS Core, the platform Primescan 2 scans into, works with third-party equipment and supports formats such as .stl, .ply and DICOM files10Provided by the vendor | Primescan 2 requires a paid subscription to DS Core11Provided by the vendor | Share scan data and patient files with the dental lab through DS Core12Provided by the vendor | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | Described as a wireless intraoral scanner, with rechargeable batteries lasting up to four scans per charge13Provided by the vendor | Not found in public sourcesNot available in the US (searched Oct 18, 2026): the page says caries detection with fluorescence and near-infrared 2D images is «Currently not available in Japan and USA»; https://www.dentsplysirona.com/en-us/discover/discover-by-brand/primescan2.html (f225262e) | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | Manufacturer: Dentsply Sirona manufacturer Model: Primescan 2 No local seller found (searched October 18, 2026) | Base price: no public price found as of October 18, 202614 | Last checked |
| Align Technology iTero Lumina 2 of 9 facts published Align Technology, Inc. (United States) manufacturerlocal seller www.invisalign.com/provider | Offered as the iTero Lumina Pro imaging system or the iTero Lumina intraoral scanner (without NIRI); a compatible computer unit is available from Contec, and PC configuration specs are published15Provided by the vendor | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | An all-inclusive service plan includes warranty, support, cloud storage and more16Provided by the vendor | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | 3D models, intraoral camera and interproximal caries detection aid (iTero NIRI) in one device; NIRI is not in the iTero Lumina intraoral scanner (without NIRI) version17Provided by the vendor | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | Manufacturer: Align Technology manufacturer Model: iTero Lumina No local seller found (searched October 18, 2026) | Base price: no public price found as of October 18, 202618 | Last checked |
| DEXIS DEXIS IS 3800W 2 of 9 facts published Dental Imaging Technologies Corporation (United States) manufacturerlocal seller dexis.com/en-us | Wireless intraoral scanner with a plug-in WiFi dongle; optional DEXIS IS All in One Computer and DEXIS IS Voyager trolley; computer system requirements listed19Provided by the vendor | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | The US page lists «60-day Satisfaction Guaranteed» and «DEXIS Complete Warranty» without terms20Provided by the vendor | Wireless; up to one hour of continuous scanning, smart charging station, back-up power cable and optional extra batteries21Provided by the vendor | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | Manufacturer: DEXIS manufacturer Model: DEXIS IS 3800W No local seller found (searched October 18, 2026) | Base price: no public price found as of October 18, 202622 | Last checked |
| Medit Medit i900 0 of 9 facts published MEDIT CORP. (South Korea) manufacturer www.medit.com | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | Not found in public sourcesNot found in public sources (searched Oct 18, 2026) | Manufacturer: Medit manufacturer Model: Medit i900 No local seller found (searched October 18, 2026) | Base price: no public price found as of October 18, 202623 | Last checked |
Who sells it in the US
- 3Shape TRIOS 6 Wireless: 3Shape US webshop, country United States: «Available in United States. Estimated delivery: 1 week»24Provided by the vendor Sold directly by 3Shape through its US webshop; no US dealer researched or found in fetched sources25Provided by the vendor
- Align Technology iTero Lumina: itero.com page for the iTero Lumina scanner; the site states its content applies to users within the United States and Canada; purchase through an iTero representative26Provided by the vendor
- Dentsply Sirona Primescan 2: Dentsply Sirona USA product page for Primescan 2; the US online shop lists «Primescan 2 | Wireless Intraoral Scanner» with «Sign In for Price»27Provided by the vendor Sold through Dentsply Sirona's own US online shop; no US dealer researched or found in fetched sources28Provided by the vendor
- DEXIS IS 3800W: DEXIS United States (en-us) product page for the IS 3800W wireless intraoral scanner; company address 450 Commerce Drive, Quakertown, PA, USA29Provided by the vendor
- Medit i900: FDA registration and listing (openFDA): MEDIT USA, INC. is a registered establishment in California, and MEDIT CORP. (Korea) lists «i900», «i900 classic» and «i900 Mobility» under product code NOF (optical impression system for CAD/CAM of dental restorations), device class 230 No US dealer documented; the FDA registration shows a US establishment, MEDIT USA, INC.31
Price
- 3Shape TRIOS 6 Wireless: Published on the US webshop: one-time payment $33,650 for the configuration shown, or 3Shape Installments over 24-60 months; taxes and shipping not included4Provided by the vendor
For iTero Lumina, Primescan 2, DEXIS IS 3800W and Medit i900 we found no public price when we searched on October 18, 2026.
Scanner type and computer
- 3Shape TRIOS 6 Wireless: TRIOS 6 Wireless scanner sold with a computer pre-installed with scan and workflow software; choice of Dell Pro Max Plus, Lenovo ThinkStation P360 Ultra PC or TRIOS MOVE Pro3Provided by the vendor
- Align Technology iTero Lumina: Offered as the iTero Lumina Pro imaging system or the iTero Lumina intraoral scanner (without NIRI); a compatible computer unit is available from Contec, and PC configuration specs are published15Provided by the vendor
- Dentsply Sirona Primescan 2: Wireless intraoral scanner without dedicated hardware: used with any computer, laptop, tablet or other mobile device with an internet connection; scan data is captured directly on the DS Core cloud platform9Provided by the vendor
- DEXIS IS 3800W: Wireless intraoral scanner with a plug-in WiFi dongle; optional DEXIS IS All in One Computer and DEXIS IS Voyager trolley; computer system requirements listed19Provided by the vendor
For Medit i900 we found no public description of the scanner type and computer setup on a US page when we searched on October 18, 2026; Medit’s own site could not be fetched.
License and subscription
- 3Shape TRIOS 6 Wireless: First year of TRIOS Care included; after the first year TRIOS Care costs $219/month, or the practice can downgrade to TRIOS Only (free service agreement); 3Shape app subscriptions take effect after one year5Provided by the vendor
- Dentsply Sirona Primescan 2: Primescan 2 requires a paid subscription to DS Core11Provided by the vendor
For iTero Lumina, DEXIS IS 3800W and Medit i900 we found no public description of license or subscription terms when we searched on October 18, 2026.
Open export and sending to the lab
- Dentsply Sirona Primescan 2: DS Core, the platform Primescan 2 scans into, works with third-party equipment and supports formats such as .stl, .ply and DICOM files10Provided by the vendor Share scan data and patient files with the dental lab through DS Core12Provided by the vendor
For TRIOS 6 Wireless, iTero Lumina, DEXIS IS 3800W and Medit i900 we found no public description of export file formats or lab connectivity when we searched on October 18, 2026.
Service and warranty
- 3Shape TRIOS 6 Wireless: TRIOS Care (first year included): onboarding, continued training, unlimited support, warranty and express replacement6Provided by the vendor
- Align Technology iTero Lumina: An all-inclusive service plan includes warranty, support, cloud storage and more16Provided by the vendor
- DEXIS IS 3800W: The US page lists «60-day Satisfaction Guaranteed» and «DEXIS Complete Warranty» without terms20Provided by the vendor
For Primescan 2 and Medit i900 we found no public description of service or warranty when we searched on October 18, 2026.
Questions to ask before you request a quote
- Which file formats does your lab accept, and can the scanner export open files such as STL, PLY or OBJ at no extra cost?
- What does the scanner cost delivered, and are a license, annual subscription or per-case fees added? What happens if you stop paying the subscription?
- Are sales tax, shipping, the computer, installation, training and a service plan included in the price?
- Who services the model, how fast, and can your practice borrow a scanner while yours is being repaired?
- Will the scanner connect to chairside milling or 3D printing, and does it work with the equipment you have or plan to buy?
- Does it work with your practice management and imaging software, and what does it require of the computer?
Sources
Numbered by first appearance on the page. The date is when the source was last checked.
- Price information (webshop.3shape.com). Checked October 18, 2026. Confirmed in the source
- Price information: Add-on – TRIOS Care service plan after the first year (webshop.3shape.com). Checked October 18, 2026. Confirmed in the source
- 3Shape - Configurator (webshop.3shape.com). Checked October 18, 2026. Provided by the vendorConfirmed in the source
- 3Shape - Configurator (webshop.3shape.com). Checked October 18, 2026. Provided by the vendorConfirmed in the source
- 3Shape - Configurator (webshop.3shape.com). Checked October 18, 2026. Provided by the vendorConfirmed in the source
- 3Shape - Configurator (webshop.3shape.com). Checked October 18, 2026. Provided by the vendorConfirmed in the source
- 3Shape - Configurator (webshop.3shape.com). Checked October 18, 2026. Provided by the vendorConfirmed in the source
- 3Shape - Configurator (webshop.3shape.com). Checked October 18, 2026. Provided by the vendorConfirmed in the source
- Primescan 2 | Dentsply Sirona USA (dentsplysirona.com). Checked October 18, 2026. Provided by the vendorConfirmed in the source
- Cloud Solution for Dentists: Clinical applications for streamlined dental workflows | Dentsply Sirona USA (dentsplysirona.com). Checked October 18, 2026. Provided by the vendorConfirmed in the source Stated for DS Core, not on the Primescan 2 page itself.
- Primescan 2 | Dentsply Sirona USA (dentsplysirona.com). Checked October 18, 2026. Provided by the vendorConfirmed in the source
- Primescan 2 | Dentsply Sirona USA (dentsplysirona.com). Checked October 18, 2026. Provided by the vendorConfirmed in the source
- Primescan 2 | Dentsply Sirona USA (dentsplysirona.com). Checked October 18, 2026. Provided by the vendorConfirmed in the source
- Base price: no public price found as of October 18, 2026. Searched: vendor product pages, pricing/plans page, FAQ and help pages, structured data (JSON-LD). No public price; the US shop shows «Sign In for Price» (behind login, not public). Pages searched: https://www.dentsplysirona.com/en-us/shop/brands/primescan.html (02d5d2f5a7c98cb9ff52c092f230a897dc4d51e819bea29bf97c041929660858); https://www.dentsplysirona.com/en-us/discover/discover-by-brand/primescan2.html (f225262e77c313c7394d769e28ecae239363c3b9d0ed1a83ff6bb5ab687a7ff4); https://www.dentsplysirona.com/en-us/explore/digital-dentistry/brands/ds-core.html (eaf2477b452684a0c8071da857cf3b635ddfcdc33440e3987ac5f5a98b4842a7); https://www.dentsplysirona.com/en-us/discover/discover-by-brand/ds-core/ds-core-care.html (aa38f0d80167eb46248305bf9023554a5fd4725979d8e9dcbf90e2ae6005aab4) Search repeated October 18, 2026: dentsplysirona.com/en-us/shop/brands/primescan.html, dentsplysirona.com/en-us/discover/discover-by-brand/primescan2.html, dentsplysirona.com/en-us/explore/digital-dentistry/brands/ds-core.html, dentsplysirona.com/en-us/discover/discover-by-brand/ds-core/ds-core-care.html.
- iTero Lumina intraoral scanner | iTero (itero.com). Checked October 18, 2026. Provided by the vendorConfirmed in the source PC specs: https://itero.com/our-solutions/itero-lumina/pc-configuration-scanner-specs (9f247a71).
- Purchasing Options | iTero (itero.com). Checked October 18, 2026. Provided by the vendorConfirmed in the source
- iTero Lumina intraoral scanner | iTero (itero.com). Checked October 18, 2026. Provided by the vendorConfirmed in the source
- Base price: no public price found as of October 18, 2026. Searched: vendor product pages, pricing/plans page, FAQ and help pages, structured data (JSON-LD). No published price; the pages offer monthly payments, trade-ins and a 3-month «Go Digital» trial with trial fees credited towards purchase, without amounts, and ask the practice to get in touch with an iTero representative. Pages searched: https://itero.com/our-solutions/itero-lumina (45528944bdb72406be9b0b06b121e33a0d66c7aabd8e6fc277a84fb9565970d1); https://itero.com/our-solutions/purchasing-options (6ba5a44df0a8f687d1c179cc9de075ba4b0c4836980fd00a9eeda1053234a394); https://itero.com/ (b1d6ce566e1f6fc9e406897760841037a2536f1f604cb74b09825d7bcd4cd5ac); https://itero.com/our-solutions/itero-lumina/pc-configuration-scanner-specs (9f247a7153e4937b4139c9b5c75e5f76b8c9f570666fda47e90994108dfe0c8e) Search repeated October 18, 2026: itero.com/our-solutions/itero-lumina, itero.com/our-solutions/purchasing-options, itero.com/, itero.com/our-solutions/itero-lumina/pc-configuration-scanner-specs.
- DEXIS IS 3800W | DEXIS (dexis.com). Checked October 18, 2026. Provided by the vendorConfirmed in the source
- DEXIS IS 3800W | DEXIS (dexis.com). Checked October 18, 2026. Provided by the vendorConfirmed in the source
- DEXIS IS 3800W | DEXIS (dexis.com). Checked October 18, 2026. Provided by the vendorConfirmed in the source
- Base price: no public price found as of October 18, 2026. Searched: vendor product pages, pricing/plans page, FAQ and help pages, structured data (JSON-LD). No published price on the US product page; the US online store page (https://store.dexis.com/en-us/8-000-5030-1.html) returned a bot challenge and was not saved. Pages searched: https://dexis.com/en-us/dexis-is-3800w (e7b9e4f0fbed252d3b522e169d60118c2e2e980cd26cbc2c8651af682408ef42) Search repeated October 18, 2026: dexis.com/en-us/dexis-is-3800w, store.dexis.com/en-us/8-000-5030-1.html.
- Base price: no public price found as of October 18, 2026. Searched: vendor product pages, pricing/plans page, FAQ and help pages, structured data (JSON-LD). No public price could be read: medit.com and medit.com/2025Q4/ returned HTTP 403; the FDA records hold no prices. Pages searched: https://api.fda.gov/device/registrationlisting.json?search=registration.name:medit&limit=5 (dc132a150a7e05b9ffae3aa95bb6980525109a1ceb15eca83e3dccc47ab8ced8); https://api.fda.gov/device/registrationlisting.json?search=registration.name:medit+AND+proprietary_name:i900&limit=3 (ce27b533db84f8dcb1d89550773cb67c61687899a752015f75af9cb2516fdb92) Search repeated October 18, 2026: api.fda.gov/device/registrationlisting.json, api.fda.gov/device/registrationlisting.json, medit.com/.
- 3Shape - Configurator (webshop.3shape.com). Checked October 18, 2026. Provided by the vendorConfirmed in the source
- 3Shape - Configurator (webshop.3shape.com). Checked October 18, 2026. Provided by the vendorConfirmed in the source Webshop terms define «3Shape» as 3Shape Inc., 3Shape A/S, 3Shape TRIOS A/S and 3Shape Medical A/S (ccefafc4).
- iTero Lumina intraoral scanner | iTero (itero.com). Checked October 18, 2026. Provided by the vendorConfirmed in the source
- Primescan 2 | Dentsply Sirona USA (dentsplysirona.com). Checked October 18, 2026. Provided by the vendorConfirmed in the source US shop: https://www.dentsplysirona.com/en-us/shop/brands/primescan.html (02d5d2f5).
- Shop Primescan dental products online | Dentsply Sirona USA (dentsplysirona.com). Checked October 18, 2026. Provided by the vendorConfirmed in the source
- DEXIS IS 3800W | DEXIS (dexis.com). Checked October 18, 2026. Provided by the vendorConfirmed in the source
- None (api.fda.gov). Checked October 18, 2026. Confirmed in the source Device names from the listing query https://api.fda.gov/device/registrationlisting.json?search=registration.name:medit+AND+proprietary_name:i900&limit=3 (ce27b533). Company fields only. Medit's own site returned HTTP 403 to every fetch; product source under the G97/G100 exception. A listing is not an FDA approval or clearance.
- None (api.fda.gov). Checked October 18, 2026. Confirmed in the source